top of page

Richard C. Chewning Award

About the Award

The Chewning Award is named in honor of its first recipient, Dr. Richard C. Chewning.


Since the early days of the Christian Business Faculty Association, Dr. Richard Chewning was at the front of our profession as an inspirational role model of servanthood, an intellectual colleague in our scholarship, and an encouragement in our leadership. At the same time he  helped make our times together enjoyable and  brought great humor to our relationships.

Now accepting nominations for this award.

Dick was the "elder statesman" of our profession and a mentor for many of us. We express our gratitude and love for our brother in a special tribute to his years of service to each of us. We lift up his passion for the integration of faith and business by establishing an annual award to be given to a person who advances the union of Biblical principles and business practice.


To anyone who knew Dick Chewning at all, the integration of Biblical principles and praxis is already well defined. From his leadership in the writing of Business Through the Eyes of Faith, which gave many of us and many of our students a starting point for discussion and reasoning through these issues; to his humble yet bold influence on anyone with whom he rubbed shoulders, Dick was both model and mentor for us all.

Award Sponsor

The initial endowment for this award was provided by the ServiceMaster Corporation under the leadership of its CEO, William Pollard.

Award Criteria

Potential recipients should love the Word of God and manifest Christ-likeness in their scholarship and/or in the practice of teaching or serving in business. The integration of Christian faith in learning may be demonstrated through discovery, integration, application and/or teaching. Nominees are expected to excel in more than one of these scholarship areas and/or be exceptional in one. The award criteria are not limited to written scholarship; teaching and service qualify as well.

Award Recognition

The honoree receives a plaque, a monetary award, and a public tribute.

Previous Recipients

(Institutions are at the time the award was granted)

bottom of page